top of page

iConference 2015

Create • Collaborate • Celebrate

University of California, Irvine: The Donald Bren School of Information and Computer Sciences

Mar. 24-27, 2015

iConference 2015

Total participants: 531
Regional representation: Roughly 80 % from North America, 11% from Europe, 8% from Asia. 25 countries were represented, the top 10 follow: USA 406; Canada 18; China 15; Germany 14; UK 10; South Korea 9; Denmark 7; Japan 7; Spain 5; Sweden 5

Completed Research Papers: 51
Preliminary Results Research Papers: 40
Posters: 99
Workshops: 11
Sessions for Interaction and Engagement: 8
Social Media Expo presentations: 5
Doctoral Colloquium Participants: 27

Image by Christian Holzinger

Conference Chair: Gary Olson, University of California, Irvine

Technical Program Chairs: Diane Bailey, University of Texas at Austin; Tom Finholt, University of Michigan

Papers Chairs: Madhu Reddy, Penn State University; Katie Siek, Indiana University

Poster Chairs: Michelle Caswell, University of California, Los Angeles; Ricky Punzalan, University of Maryland

Doctoral Colloquium Chairs: Wayne Lutters, University of Maryland, Baltimore County; Volker Wulf, University of Siegen

Early Career Colloquium Chairs: Ingrid Erickson, Rutgers University; Kristin Eschenfelder, University of Wisconsin, Madison; Ravi Vatrapu, Copenhagen Business School

Workshops Chairs: Aleksandra Sarcevic, Drexel University; Jude Yew, National University of Singapore

Sessions for Interaction and Engagement Chairs: John C. Carroll, Penn State University; Judy Olson, University of California, Irvine

Doctoral Dissertation Award Chairs: Jaap Kamps, University of Amsterdam; Elizabeth Yakel, University of Michigan

Social Media Expo Chairs: Shelly D. Farnham, Research Scientist, Third Place Technologies; Robert Mason, University of Washington; Andres Monroy-Hernandez, Researcher, FUSELabs, Microsoft Research

Proceedings Chair: Bryan Semaan, Syracuse University

Conference Coordinator: Clark Heideger, iCaucus

Conference Management: Debra A. Brodbeck, University of California, Irvine

Conference Social Media Director: Sarita Yardi Schoenebeck, University of Michigan

Student Volunteer Chairs: Julia Haines, University of California, Irvine; Bart Knijnenburg, University of California, Irvine

Program Committee

Mark Ackerman, University of Michigan
Cecilia Aragon, University of Washington
Brian Beaton, University of Pittsburgh
Geoffrey Bowker, University of California, Irvine
Rob Capra, University of North Carolina
Mary Czerwinski, Microsoft Research
Mike Eisenberg, University of Colorado
Karen Fisher, University of Washington
Susan Gasson, Drexel University
Elke Greifeneder, Humboldt University of Berlin
Gillian Hayes, University of California, Irvine
Caroline Haythornthwaite, University of British Columbia
Amanda Hughes, Utah State University
Yong Ming Kow, City University of Hong Kong
Marilyn McGee-Lennon, University of Strathclyde
Atsuyuki Morishima, University of Tsukuba
Floyd Mueller, RMIT University in Melbourne
Harri Oinas-Kukkonen, University of Oulu
Rebecca Reynolds, Rutgers University
Steve Sawyer, Syracuse University
Chirag Shah, Rutgers University
Kalpana Shanakar, University College Dublin
Patrick Shih, Pennsylvania State University
Kate Starbird, University of Washington
Cassidy Sugimoto, Indiana University
Monica Tentori, CICESE
Kristene Unsworth, Drexel University
Ravi Vatrapu, Copenhagen Business School
Wesley Willett, INRIA-Saclay
Maria Wolters, University of Edinburgh
Volker Wulf, University of Siegen

Image by Jason Leung
Sponsors & Partners

Microsoft Inc.,
Hana Lab,
National Science Foundation,
Donald Bren School of Information and Computer Sciences,
UCI Council on Research, Computing and Libraries,
Morgan & Claypool Publishers,
UCLA Graduate School of Education & Information Studies,
University of Tennessee, Knoxville,
UCI Extension,
University of California, Irvine, Institute for Software Research,
University of California, Irvine, Newkirk Center for Science and Society,


Sound Reading: Exploring and conceptualising audiobook practices among young adults

bottom of page